Frustrations and Setbacks?!? What Now?

Frustrations and set backs are going to happen, if they don’t then you aren’t challenging yourself enough. So, it’s not about being prepared for if they happen, you need to be prepared for when they happen.

I’m going to share a bit about a day of frustrations that I had this week. I didn’t want to deal with it, I wanted to flip my sh*t and curl up and cry. I was working on a project that I’ve never done anything like before and it’s not related to my passions, so I don’t easily get excited about it, but I thought I was totally prepared for it so I was excited to move forward. Boy, was I not. I’ve found out there are a lot of people in the world that I would not choose to work with. Inconsiderate, disrespectful, and entitled. Let me be clear, I love people and I really believe that everyone operates with the best intentions but that doesn’t mean that everyone has the same idea of what the best intentions are. But anyway, moving on, by the time my day was half over, I was at the grocery store buying one thing and ready to sit down and have a melt down. But you know what I did … I smiled, joked about the situation, got myself to my car, sat down and breathed. I tuned out all the distractions that seemed to be swarming around me and focused on myself and my breathing and meditated for a minute.

These were all the things you could see on the surface of how I dealt with the chaos, but that doesn’t cover what I had to do on the inside to give that presentation. One important part of setting your goals and realizing your dreams is preparing for when things don’t go just right. Here are some great ideas for dealing with stress and anxiety.

Have a visual reminder with you of why you’re doing what you’re doing. Figure out your “wanna”. Everyone wants to make money, have success, and feel happy but everyone has different reasons for why they do that and what those things mean to them, so sit and think for a minute, “Why is this important to me?” then put it into a visual, like an index card or business card in your wallet that you carry with you all the time. It could be a picture, a saying, or a combination, whatever works best for you. My “wanna” is my kids and giving them the best life possible and my kids were with me at the time so I focused on being a role model of what I would like them to do in a similar situation.

Learn a meditation or a breathing exercise that’s quick and easy. Here is a link to a great meditation option that can be done in a moment One Moment Mediation. This really helps me a lot.

Take a break. Sometimes you need to shut down and get out of the world for a few minutes. I had about 100 more things to do that day and I didn’t think I had time for a break but that was exactly what I needed right then. I wouldn’t have gotten anything done successfully that day had I kept “pushing through”. You need to take care of you first or you’re going to run out of energy for everything else. Get to a place where you can have a little physical space, for me it was my car. I could put my kiddos in their seats and even though I could hear them I had a little breathing room. Grab your phone or book or whatever you choose and tune out for a couple minutes. I like to pull out my phone and play a couple rounds of solitaire. Each game is pretty short but it lets me focus on something that doesn’t matter, win or lose, I win 😉.

Venting. Don’t spend too much time on this because what you focus on is what you’ll produce. But it is important to unload. I sent a text message to some people that were involved in the project and just putting the words out there helped immensely. I realized I wasn’t being unreasonable in my expectations nor was I the only one with these opinions.

Start your day off right. If you set the right precedence for the day then it’ll make things much easier to process. I start my days by reviewing my plan for the day, then visualizing my day and my goals, and I spend a few minutes meditating (here are a couple good ones to use: Positive Mindset Mediation, Declutter Your Mind Mediation, and Centering Meditation). Adding a 15-20 minute workout to your morning routine is great too.

All of these combined tools are a great start to your plan for dealing with stress. If something works for you then add it to your plan, also, share it in a comment here so we can all try it out. And don’t forget to use these as teaching moments. A couple things I learned from my adventurous day was to take my word seriously and keep my boundaries. Also, that my time is valuable and if the person I’m working with doesn’t value it then they aren’t worth my time.

Love to you all and know, you have everything you need within you to achieve everything you want. 💋

Leave a Reply

